Limit search to available items
Book Cover

Title The American presidency / Compton's by Britannica
Published Chicago : Encyclopaedia Britannica, ©2011


Description 1 online resource (vi, 138 pages) : illustrations (some color), maps
Series Learn & explore
Learn & explore.
Contents Table of Contents; Introduction; Office of the President; George Washington; John Adams; Thomas Jefferson; James Madison; James Monroe; John Quincy Adams; Andrew Jackson; Martin Van Buren; William Henry Harrison; John Tyler; James K. Polk; Zachary Taylor; Millard Fillmore; Franklin Pierce; James Buchanan; Abraham Lincoln; Andrew Johnson; Ulysses S. Grant; Rutherford B. Hayes; JamesA. Garfield; ChesterA. Arthur; Grover Cleveland; Benjamin Harrison; William McKinley; Theodore Roosevelt; William Howard Taft; Woodrow Wilson; Warren G. Harding; Calvin Coolidge; Herbert Hoover; Franklin D. Roosevelt
Summary The American Presidency provides a rich journey through U.S. history. Meet the occupants of the nation's highest office from George Washington to Barack Obama. Each presidential summary includes a detailed biography, the president's signature, his vice president(s), a profile of the first lady, and timelines. Coverage of the presidential election process, the Cabinet, White House, election results, the presidential flag, and the presidential seal history is also included
Bibliography Includes bibliographical references (page 136) and index
Notes Print version record
Subject Presidents -- United States -- Biography.
Presidents -- United States -- History
HISTORY -- State & Local -- General.
Politics and government
SUBJECT United States -- Politics and government.
Subject United States
Genre/Form Biographies
Form Electronic book
Author Encyclopaedia Britannica, Inc
Compton's Learning Company.
LC no. 2010927728
ISBN 9781615354306