Limit search to available items
Book Cover
Author Bowen, Chris, author

Title The money men : Australia's 12 most notable treasurers / Chris Bowen
Published Carlton, Victoria : Melbourne University Press, 2015


Location Call no. Vol. Availability
 ADPML REF  336.01294 Bow/Mma  LIB USE ONLY
Description xvi, 472 pages : portraits ; 24 cm
regular print
Contents Sir George Turner -- William Alexander Watt -- Sir Earle Christmas Grafton Page -- Edward Granville (Ted) Theodore -- Joseph Benedict (Ben) Chifley -- Sir Arthur William (Artie) Fadden -- Dr James Ford (Jim) Cairns -- William George (Bill) Hayden -- John Winston Howard -- Paul John Keating -- Peter Howard Costello -- Wayne Maxwell Swan
Summary How much do we know about the second most important office in the nation? Who was Australia's first treasurer? Who resigned because of a relationship breakdown with the PM? And who did Frank Hardy base his character Ted Thurgood in Power without Glory on? The Money Men is the first in-depth look at the twelve most notable and interesting men to have held the office of Treasurer of Australia. Former Treasurer Chris Bowen brings a unique insider perspective to the lessons learned from the successes and failures of those who went before him
Analysis Australian
Notes Includes index
Bibliography Includes bibliographical references (pages 433-446) and index
Audience General
Subject Australia. Department of Finance (2013- )
Australia. Department of Finance -- Officials and employees.
Australia. Department of Finance (2013- ) -- Officials and employees
Australia. Treasury -- Officials and employees.
Finance ministers -- Australia -- Biography.
Finance ministers -- Australia.
Finance, Public -- Australia -- History.
Politicians -- Australia.
Treasurers -- Australia
Genre/Form Biographies.
LC no. 2018411365
ISBN 0522866603 (paperback)
Other Titles Money men : Australia's twelve most notable treasurers