Limit search to available items
Book Cover
Author Frolova-Walker, Marina, author

Title Shostakovich's Symphony no. 5 / Marina Frolova-Walker and Jonathan Walker
Published New York, NY : Oxford University Press, 2024


Description 1 online resource : illustrations
Series Oxford keynotes
Oxford keynotes.
Contents Cover -- Shostakovich's Symphony No. 5 -- Copyright -- Contents -- Acknowledgments -- Note on Transliteration -- List of Themes -- Prelude -- About the Companion Website -- 1: From the Fourth to the Fifth -- "This Is Chaos, Not Music" -- (Not) the Fourth Symphony -- The Birth of the Fifth -- Three Streams of Reception -- 2: Musical Contexts -- Beethoven and Tchaikovsky -- Hindemith and Mahler -- Shostakovich's "Eclecticism" -- 3: The Phantom Program -- Intelligentsia and Revolution -- "Maturation of Personality" -- 4: The Faulty Metronome -- Mravinsky vs. Bernstein -- Between the Two Poles
5: A Formula for Triumph -- The Great Citizen -- The Triumph Formula -- The Missing Theme -- 6: The End of the Affair -- A Secret Uncovered -- First Movement -- Second Movement -- Third Movement -- Fourth Movement -- Motto and Monogram -- Other Secrets -- Postlude -- A Listening Guide -- First Movement -- Second Movement -- Third Movement -- Fourth Movement -- Index
Summary Shostakovich's Fifth Symphony, created against the backdrop of one of Stalin's most infamous purges, is one of Shostakovich's most controversial works. It was Shostakovich's response to criticism that earned him disfavor in the eyes of officials, one that allowed him to regain artistic pride even as he won the approval necessary to regain his livelihood. This book explores this symphony in full and clues readers into secrets about it that took decades to uncover
Notes Also issued in print: 2024
Bibliography Includes bibliographical references and index
Audience Specialized
Notes Description based on online resource; title from digital title page (viewed on December 22, 2023)
Subject Shostakovich, Dmitriĭ Dmitrievich, 1906-1975. Symphonies, no. 5, op. 47
Shostakovich, Dmitriĭ Dmitrievich, 1906-1975 -- Criticism and interpretation
SUBJECT Symphonies (Shostakovich, Dmitriĭ Dmitrievich) fast
Form Electronic book
Author Walker, Jonathan (Pianist), author.
ISBN 9780197566343