Limit search to available items
Book Cover
Author Moshevich, Sofia, author.

Title Shostakovich's music for piano solo : interpretation and performance / Sofia Moshevich
Published Bloomington : Indiana University Press, [2015]


Description 1 online resource : illustrations
Series Russian music studies
Russian music studies (Bloomington, Ind.)
Contents Early works. five preludes ; Three fantastic dances, op. 5 ; Piano sonata no. 1, op. 12 ; Aphorisms, op. 13 ; Polka, op. 22a, from the ballet The golden age -- Mature works. Twenty-four preludes, op. 34 ; Piano sonata no. 2, op. 61 -- The masterpiece. Twenty-four preludes and fugues, op. 87 -- Works for children. Children's notebook, op. 69 ; Dances of the dolls
Summary The piano works of Dmitri Shostakovich (1906-1975) are among the most treasured musical compositions of the 20th century. In this volume, pianist and Russian music scholar Sofia Moshevich provides detailed interpretive analyses of the ten major piano solo works by Shostakovich, carefully noting important stylistic details and specific ways to overcome the numerous musical and technical challenges presented by the music. Each piece is introduced with a brief historic and structural description, followed by an examination of such interpretive aspects as tempo, phrasing, dynamics, voice balance, pedaling, and fingering. This book will be an invaluable resource for students, pedagogues, and performers of Shostakovich's piano solos
Bibliography Includes bibliographical references and index
Notes English
Print version record
Subject Shostakovich, Dmitriĭ Dmitrievich, 1906-1975. Piano music.
SUBJECT Piano music (Shostakovich, Dmitriĭ Dmitrievich) fast
Subject Piano music -- History and criticism.
MUSIC -- Musical Instruments -- Piano & Keyboard.
MUSIC -- Printed Music -- Percussion.
MUSIC -- Individual Composer & Musician.
Piano music
Genre/Form Criticism, interpretation, etc.
Form Electronic book
LC no. 2014044009
ISBN 9780253014313