Limit search to available items
Book Cover
Author Lennard, John, 1964-

Title Paul Scott: the Raj quartet and Staying on / John Lennard
Published Tirril : Humanities-Ebooks, 2008
Online access available from:
ProQuest Ebook Central Subscription    View Resource Record  
EBSCO eBook Academic Collection    View Resource Record  


Description 1 online resource (97, 1 unnumbered page) : map
Series Literature insights
Literature insights
Contents pt. 1. Life and works : an overview -- pt. 2. Facts, fictions, and verisimilitude : representing the British Raj -- pt. 3. 'Coming to the end of themselves as they were' : witnessing imperial decay -- pt. 4. 'There's nothing I can do' : embodying personal nullity -- pt. 5. 'I've put it badly' : class and silence -- pt. 6. Dreams, nightmares, & Realpolitik : representing India (and Pakistan)
Summary A study of Scott's four great novels of British India - The Jewel in the Crown, The Day of the Scorpion, The Towers of Silence, A Division of the Spoils - and of the popular coda, Staying On
Bibliography Includes bibliographical references
Subject Scott, Paul, 1920-1978 -- Criticism and interpretation.
Scott, Paul, 1920-1978. Raj quartet.
Scott, Paul, 1920-1978. Staying on
British -- India -- Fiction.
Genre/Form Fiction.
Form Electronic book
ISBN 1847600565 (electronic bk.)
9781847600561 (electronic bk.)
Other Titles Raj quartet and Staying on