Limit search to available items
Book Cover

Title Analytical essays on music by women composers : secular & sacred music to 1900 / edited by Laurel Parsons and Brenda Ravenscroft
Published New York, NY : Oxford University Press, [2018]


Description 1 online resource (xi, 273 pages)
Series Analytical essays on music by women composers ; volume 1
Analytical essays on music by women composers ; v. 1
Contents Introduction: "Half of Humanity Has Something to Say, Also" / Laurel Parsons and Brenda Ravenscroft -- Part I, Early music for voice. Hildegard of Bingen, O Ierusalem aurea civitas (ca. 1150-​1170): Varied repetition in Hildegard's sequence for St. Rupert : O Ierusalem aurea civitas / Jennifer Bain. Maddalena Casulana, "Per lei pos' in oblio" from Cinta di fior (1570): Finding the "air" in Maddalena Casulana's madrigals / Peter Schubert. Barbara Strozzi, Appresso ai molli argenti (1659): Consolation amid barbarous misfortune : Barbara Strozzi's Appresso ai molli argenti and the mid-​seventeenth-​century lament / Richard Kolb and Barbara Swanson -- Part II, Seventeenth- and eighteenth-century keyboard music. Élisabeth-​Claude Jacquet de La Guerre, Sarabandes from the Suites in A minor (1687) and D minor (1707): In the realm of all the senses : two sarabandes by Élisabeth-​Claude Jacquet de La Guerre / Susan McClary. Marianna Martines, Sonata in A Major, I (1765): "Zierlichkeit und Genie" : grace and genius in Marianna Martines's Sonata in A major / L. Poundie Burstein -- Part III, Nineteenth-century Lieder and piano music. Fanny Hensel, "Von dir, mein Lieb, ich scheiden muss" (1841) and "Ich kann wohl manchmal singen" (1846): Fanny Hensel's schematic fantasies, or, The art of beginning / Stephen Rodgers. Josephine Lang, "An einer Quelle" (1840/​1853) and "Am Morgen" (1840): Josephine Lang's multiple settings of poems by Christian Reinhold Köstlin / Harald Krebs. Clara Schumann, "Liebst du um Schönheit" (1841): Multiply interrupted structure in Clara Schumann's "Liebst du um Schönheit" / Michael Baker. Amy Beach, "Phantoms," op. 15, no. 2 (1892). Gapped lines and ghostly flowers in Amy Beach's "Phantoms," op. 15, no. 2 / Edward D. Latham
Summary This collection of in-depth analytical essays celebrates music by female composers from the twelfth to nineteenth centuries. The essays, written by leading music theorists and musicologists, examine select compositions in detail, collectively establishing a foundation for new scholarly research into outstanding compositions created by women
Bibliography Includes bibliographical references and index
Notes Online resource; title from digital title page (viewed on October 15, 2018)
Subject Musical analysis -- Music collections.
Women composers.
Composition (Music)
MUSIC -- Genres & Styles -- Classical.
MUSIC -- Reference.
Women composers.
Composition (Music)
Musical analysis.
Genre/Form Collections.
Form Electronic book
Author Parsons, Laurel, editor
Ravenscroft, Brenda, 1961- editor
ISBN 9780190237059