Limit search to available items
Book Cover
Author Holden, Raymond, author.

Title Marks of a maestro : annotating Mozart's 'Jupiter' symphony / Raymond Holden, Stephen Mould
Published Cambridge, United Kingdom ; New York, NY : Cambridge University Press, 2021


Description 1 online resource
Series Cambridge elements. Elements in twenty-first century music practice
Cambridge elements. Elements in twenty-first century music practice.
Summary Only recently has it become obvious that conductors' annotated scores and marked orchestral parts are of great cultural, historical and musical importance. In the not-so-distant past, these artefacts had something of an uncertain status with many either languishing unopened in libraries and family archives or simply being dispersed or discarded. With the help of institutions such as the Royal Academy of Music, Harvard University and the New York Philharmonic Orchestra this has begun to change with their extensive collections of these materials now being made available to scholars and musicians. This element examines the emergence of these artefacts as didactic and interpretative tools and explores the ways in which the performance styles of ten iconic conductors active in the nineteenth, twentieth and twenty-first centuries are reflected in their annotated scores and marked orchestral parts of Mozart's Symphony No. 41, K. 551 ('Jupiter')
Notes Online resource; title from digital title page (viewed on March 06, 2021)
Subject Mozart, Wolfgang Amadeus, 1756-1791. Symphonies, K. 551, C major.
SUBJECT Symphonies (Mozart, Wolfgang Amadeus) fast
Form Electronic book
Author Mould, Stephen, author.
ISBN 9781108902601