Limit search to available items
Book Cover

Title The fiction of Robin Jenkins : some kind of grace / edited by Douglas Gifford and Linden Bicket
Published Leiden ; Boston : Brill, 2017


Description 1 online resource
Series SCROLL: Scottish Cultural Review of Language and Literature ; 26
SCROLL: Scottish Cultural Review of Language and Literature ; 26
Contents The Range and Achievement of Robin Jenkins: An Introductory Overview / Gavin Wallace and Douglas Gifford -- 'Fresh and truthful eyes': Jenkins's Early Scottish Fiction (1950-1958) / Isobel Murray -- Ironic Mythology: Reading the Fictiveness of The Cone-Gatherers / Gerard Carruthers -- 'To Bring Profoundest Sympathy': Jenkins and Community / Timothy C. Baker -- The Art of Uncertainty: Forms of Omniscience in the Novels of Robin Jenkins / Cairns Craig -- Realism, Symbolism, and Authorial Manipulation in The Changeling / Douglas Gifford -- Robin Jenkins: Perspectives on the Postcolonial / Glenda Norquay -- Robin Jenkins: The Short Stories / Alan Riach -- 'Pilgrims of Conscience' in the Fiction of Robin Jenkins / Ingibjörg Ágústsdóttir -- What's the Story in Fergus Lamont? Or 'Where was Fergus when Kennedy got Shot?' / Michael Lamont and Douglas Gifford -- Confessions of an Unbeliever: Religion in the Novels of Robin Jenkins / Bernard Sellin -- 'A Kind of Truth': Innocence and Corruption in Lady Magdalen and Just Duffy / Margery Palmer McCulloch -- The Past is Not a Foreign Country: Jenkins, Scotland and History / David S. Robb -- Reprise or Resolution? A Would-be Saint and Robin Jenkins's Final Novel, The Pearl Fishers / Linden Bicket -- Old Themes and Self-Reflection in Jenkins's Later Novels / Ingibjörg Ágústsdóttir
Summary The Fiction of Robin Jenkins' is the first ever volume of essays dedicated to Robin Jenkins (1912-2005), hailed by Andrew Marr as?the best-kept secret in Modern British Literature?, and by the Scotsman in 2000 as?the greatest living fiction-writer in Scotland the Scottish Thomas Hardy?. This new study of Jenkins includes essays across his entire, astonishingly varied body of work. It includes provocative new readings of a range of thematic issues by established experts on Jenkins and on Scottish Literature more broadly. This volume also includes chapters dedicated to individual novels in Jenkins?s corpus, including his best-known work, 'The Cone-Gatherers', as well as 'The Changeling', 'Fergus Lamont', and his posthumous novel, 'The Pearl Fishers'
Bibliography Includes bibliographical references and index
Notes Print version record and CIP data provided by publisher; resource not viewed
Subject Jenkins, Robin, 1912-2005 -- Criticism and interpretation
Jenkins, Robin, 1912-2005.
English fiction -- Scottish authors -- History and criticism
LITERARY CRITICISM / European / English, Irish, Scottish, Welsh
English fiction -- Scottish authors.
Scotland -- In literature
Genre/Form Criticism, interpretation, etc.
Form Electronic book
Author Gifford, Douglas, 1940- editor.
Bicket, Linden, editor
LC no. 2017023142
ISBN 9004342494