Limit search to available items
Book Cover

Title Essays on Roberto Gerhard / edited by Monty Adkins and Michael Russ
Published Newcastle upon Tyne, UK : Cambridge Scholars Publishing, 2017
Online access available from:
EBSCO eBook Academic Collection    View Resource Record  


Description 1 online resource
Summary For much of the mid-twentieth century, Roberto Gerhard found himself an outsider. He was airbrushed from much writing on contemporary music in Spain during the Franco regime, and was known in England more for his 'commercial' music for theatre, film and radio than his concert works. However, his significance as a musical innovator in developing serial technique and in the field of electro-acoustics is now being gradually recognised in both Spain and England, as well as further afield. The volume explores an extensive range of Gerhard's work from the early Wind Quintet and the Spanish ballets Pandora and Don Quixote with their overt political overtones, through to the late period Metamorphoses and a newly discovered chance-based composition Claustophilia written in response to a request by John Cage for his book Notations. One of the key themes presented throughout the book is Gerhard's innovative use of serialism. Gerhard's development of Schoenberg's technique led him to explore the serialization of both pitch and time. This volume suggests evidence for the first time that situates Gerhard's idiosyncratic experiments alongside rather than after the total serialist works of his European counterparts Pierre Boulez, Olivier Messiaen and Karlheinz Stockhausen
Bibliography Includes bibliographical references and index
Notes Vendor-supplied metadata
Subject Gerhard, Roberto, 1896-1970 -- Criticism and interpretation
Gerhard, Roberto, 1896-1970.
Composers -- Spain -- Catalonia
Music -- 20th century -- History and criticism
Cultural studies.
MUSIC / Genres & Styles / Classical
MUSIC / Reference
Spain -- Catalonia.
Genre/Form Criticism, interpretation, etc.
Form Electronic book
Author Adkins, Monty, editor
Russ, Michael, editor
ISBN 1443874817 (electronic bk.)
9781443874816 (electronic bk.)