Limit search to available items
Book Cover
Author Hopkins, Antony, 1921-2014, author.

Title The seven concertos of Beethoven / Antony Hopkins
Published Abingdon, Oxon ; New York, NY : Routledge, 2018


Description 1 online resource
Series Routledge revivals
Routledge revivals.
Contents Cover; Half Title; Title; Copyright; Contents; PREFACE; Introduction: The Concerto; Piano Concerto No. 1 in C Major, Op. 15; Piano Concerto No. 2 in B Flat Major, Op. 19; Piano Concerto No. 3 in C Minor, Op. 37; Piano Concerto No. 4 in G Major, Op. 58; Piano Concerto No. 5 in E Flat Major, Op. 73; Violin Concerto in D Major, Op. 61; Triple Concerto, Op. 56
Summary This volume counters the attitude of paying more attention to the performer than to the piece. Too often, Anthony Hopkins argues, music is simply regarded as a pleasant background noise to accompany our other activities, whereas Beethoven offers much more than that. Hopkins aim to promote hearing, rather than listening. He examines Beethoven's piano concertos numbers 1 through 5, along with the violin concerto in D Major, Op. 61, and the Triple Concerto, Op. 56
Notes Originally published 1996 by Ashgate Publishing
Bibliography Includes bibliographical references
Notes Online resource; title from PDF title page (EBSCO, viewed December 27, 2018)
Subject Beethoven, Ludwig van, 1770-1827. Concertos.
SUBJECT Concertos (Beethoven, Ludwig van) fast
Subject Concertos -- Analysis, appreciation
MUSIC -- Musical Instruments -- General.
MUSIC -- Printed Music -- Band & Orchestra.
Concertos -- Analysis, appreciation
Form Electronic book
ISBN 9780429430688