Limit search to available items
Book Cover
Author Tunbridge, Laura, 1974- author.

Title Beethoven : a life in nine pieces / Laura Tunbridge
Published New Haven : Yale University Press, [2020]


Description 1 online resource (xii, 276 pages) : illustrations
Contents A note on Beethoven's finances -- A note on musical terms -- Introduction: beginnings -- Success: Septet, op. 20 (1800) -- Friends: Violin Sonata no. 9, op. 47, the 'Kreutzer' (1803) -- Heroism: Symphony no. 3, op. 55, the 'Eroica' (1804) -- Ambition: Choral Fantasy, op. 80 (1808) -- Love: 'An die Geliebte', WoO 140 (1812) -- Liberty: Fidelio, op. 72 (1814) -- Family: Piano Sonata no. 29, op. 106, the 'Hammerklavier' (1818) -- Spirit: Missa solemnis, op. 123 (1823) -- Endings: String Quartet, op. 130, and the 'Grosse Fuge', op. 133 (1826) -- Coda
Summary The iconic image of Beethoven is of him as a lone genius: hair wild, fists clenched, and brow furrowed. Beethoven may well have shaped the music of the future, but he was also a product of his time, influenced by the people, politics, and culture around him. Oxford scholar Laura Tunbridge offers an alternative history of Beethoven's career, placing his music in contexts that shed light on why particular pieces are valued more than others, and what this tells us about his larger-than-life reputation. Each chapter focuses on a period of his life, a piece of music, and a revealing theme, from family to friends, from heroism to liberty. We discover, along the way, Beethoven's unusual marketing strategies, his ambitious concert programming, and how specific performers and instruments influenced his works. This book offers new ways to understand Beethoven and why his music continues to be valued today
Notes "Original edition first published by Penguin Books Ltd, London."--Title page verso
Bibliography Includes bibliographical references and index
Notes Print version record
Subject Beethoven, Ludwig van, 1770-1827.
Beethoven, Ludwig van, 1770-1827. Septet, clarinet, bassoon, horn, violin, viola, cello, double bass, op. 20, E♭ major.
Beethoven, Ludwig van, 1770-1827. Sonatas, violin, piano, no. 9, op. 47, A major.
Beethoven, Ludwig van, 1770-1827. Symphonies, no. 3, op. 55, E♭ major.
Beethoven, Ludwig van, 1770-1827. Fantasien, piano, mixed voices, orchestra, op. 80, C minor.
Beethoven, Ludwig van, 1770-1827. An die Geliebte (1814)
Beethoven, Ludwig van, 1770-1827. Fidelio (1814)
Beethoven, Ludwig van, 1770-1827. Sonatas, piano, no. 29, op. 106, B♭ major.
Beethoven, Ludwig van, 1770-1827. Missa solemnis.
Beethoven, Ludwig van, 1770-1827. Quartets, violins (2), viola, cello, no. 13, op. 130, B♭ major.
Beethoven, Ludwig van, 1770-1827. Grosse Fuge, violins (2), viola, cello.
Beethoven, Ludwig van, 1770-1827.
SUBJECT Symphonies (Beethoven, Ludwig van) fast (OCoLC)fst01356350
Sonatas (Beethoven, Ludwig van) fast (OCoLC)fst01356299
Septet (Beethoven, Ludwig van) fast (OCoLC)fst01371660
Quartets (Beethoven, Ludwig van) fast (OCoLC)fst01356394
Missa solemnis (Beethoven, Ludwig van) fast (OCoLC)fst01358082
Grosse Fuge (Beethoven, Ludwig van) fast (OCoLC)fst01370244
Fidelio (Beethoven, Ludwig van) fast (OCoLC)fst01357841
Fantasien (Beethoven, Ludwig van) fast (OCoLC)fst01394787
Subject Composers -- Germany -- Biography
BIOGRAPHY & AUTOBIOGRAPHY -- Composers & Musicians.
Genre/Form Electronic books
Form Electronic book
ISBN 9780300257977