Limit search to available items
Book Cover
Author Cook, Nicholas, 1950-

Title Beethoven, Symphony no. 9 / Nicholas Cook
Published Cambridge ; New York : Cambridge University Press, ©1993


Description 1 online resource (x, 133 pages) : music, facsimile
Series Cambridge music handbooks
Cambridge music handbooks
Contents Sketches and myths -- Early impressions -- Performance and tradition -- The romantic ninth -- The twentieth-century ninth -- Conclusion beyond interpretation? -- Appendices. Schiller's 'An die Freude' and the ninth symphony -- The text of the ninth symphony / by Jonathan Del Mar
Summary Beethoven's Ninth Symphony is acknowledged as one of the supreme masterpieces of the Western tradition. More than any other musical work it has become an international symbol of unity and affirmation. Yet early critics rejected it as cryptic and eccentric, the product of a deaf and ageing composer. Nicholas Cook's guide charts the dramatic transformation in the reception of this work. The story begins in Vienna, with the responses of listeners at the first performance, and ends in contemporary China and Japan, where the symphony has acquired diametrically opposed interpretations. The account embraces many of the major figures of nineteenth- and twentieth-century music, among them Wagner and Schenker. Including an account of the sketches, an examination of the performance tradition, and a suggested new interpretation, this book opens up new dimensions in our understanding of Beethoven's last symphony
Bibliography Includes bibliographical references (pages 129-130) and index
Notes English
Print version record
Subject Beethoven, Ludwig van, 1770-1827. Symphonies, no. 9, op. 125, D minor.
Beethoven, Ludwig van 1770-1827 Sinfonien Nr. 9 op. 125 d-Moll
Symphonies (Beethoven, Ludwig van)
Form Electronic book
Author Del Mar, Jonathan
LC no. 92020451
ISBN 9780511611612
Other Titles Symphony no. 9