Limit search to available items
Book Cover
Author Leach, Brenda Lynne, author

Title Looking and listening : conversations between modern art and music / Brenda Lynne Leach
Published Lanham, Maryland : Rowman & Littlefield, [2015]
Online access available from:
EBSCO eBook Academic Collection    View Resource Record  
ProQuest Ebook Central Subscription    View Resource Record  


Description 1 online resource (195 pages) : illustrations
Contents Part I. Prelude : Artists respond to music. Stuart Davis and the art of jazz -- Arthur Dove and George Gershwin: A brush with Rhapsody in Blue -- Romare Bearden and visual jazz -- European artists and American jazz -- Kandinsky and Schoenberg : On the verge -- Part II. Interlude 1 : Composers respond to artists. Dave Brubeck and his reflections on Miró : Music and art across time -- Paul Klee : The music in the art -- Mark Rothko and Morton Feldman : Somewhere between presence and absence, sound and silence -- Earle Brown and Alexander Calder : Who's in control? -- John Cage and Robert Rauschenberg : Life of art -- art of life -- Part III. Interlude 2 : Shared inspiration and influence across domains. Claude Debussy and the Fin-de-Siècle -- Cubism in art and music -- Georgia O'Keeffe and American modernist composers : The spirit of a new century -- Diego Rivera and Carlos Chávez : Voices of Mexico in art and music -- Minimalism in art and music -- Postlude
Summary "This book invites the art and music lover to place these two realms of creative endeavor in conversation with one another. In Looking and Listening, conductor and art connoisseur Brenda Leach explores unique pairings of well-known visual art works and musical compositions from the twentieth century, identifying the shared sources of inspiration"--Provided by publisher
Bibliography Includes bibliographical references and index
Notes Print version record
Subject Art and music.
Art, Modern -- 20th century.
Jazz in art.
Music -- 20th century -- History and criticism.
Genre/Form Criticism, interpretation, etc.
Form Electronic book
ISBN 0810883473 (electronic book)
9780810883475 (electronic book)