Limit search to available items
Book Cover
Author Berlinski, Samuel

Title Accounting for Ministers : Scandal and Survival in British Government 1945-2007
Published Cambridge : Cambridge University Press, 2012
Online access available from:
Cambridge Core    View Resource Record  


Description 1 online resource (210 pages)
Contents Cover; Accounting for Ministers; Title; Copyright; Contents; Figures; Tables; Preface and acknowledgements; 1 Introduction; 2 Managing the cabinet: principal-agent relations; Principals and their agents; Agency models of elections; Empirical evidence; Parliamentary democracy; The prime minister and cabinet; Applying the agency model in parliamentary democracies; The cabinet as a system of incentives; Cabinet selection; Our data and questions; 3 The structure of British government; Constitutional situation; The cabinet; Ministers; The jobs of ministers; Choosing ministers
Ministerial responsibilityIndividual ministerial responsibility; Collective cabinet responsibility; Government changes; 4 Who serves in government and how long do they last?; Who serves; Power relations in British government; Ministerial characteristics; How long do ministers last?; Hazard rates and survivor functions; Education effects; Effects of gender and other characteristics; Political effects; Separating the effect of individual characteristics; The determinants of ministerial hazard rates; Conclusion; 5 The prime minister and cabinet; Prime ministerial styles
Clement Attlee -- 26 July 1945 to 26 October 1951 (two administrations)Winston Churchill -- 26 October 1951 to 5 April 1955 (one administration); Anthony Eden -- 5 April 1955 to 9 January 1957 (two administrations); Harold Macmillan -- 5 January 1957 to 18 October 1963 (two administrations); Alec Douglas-Home -- 18 October 1963 to 16 October 1964 (one administration); Harold Wilson -- 16 October 1964 to 19 June 1970 (two administrations); Edward Heath -- 19 June 1970 to 4 March 1974 (one administration); Harold Wilson -- 4 March 1974 to 5 April 1976 (two administrations)
James Callaghan -- 5 April 1976 to 4 May 1979 (one administration)Margaret Thatcher -- 4 May 1979 to 28 November 1990 (three administrations); John Major -- 28 November 1990 to 2 May 1997 (two administrations); Tony Blair -- 2 May 1997 to 27 June 2007 (three administrations); Survivor functions for different prime ministers; Conclusion; 6 Performance measures and forced exits; Introduction; Resignations and non-resignations; Differences between prime ministers and parties; Proximate causes of forced exits; Conclusions; 7 Ministerial performance and tenure; Our assumptions; Ministerial motives
Misalignment of incentivesImperfect information; Performance and tenure; Resignation calls as performance indicators; Descriptive analysis; Empirical strategy; Hazard rate estimates; Conclusions; 8 Conclusion; References; Index
Summary Uses the tools of modern political science to analyse the factors which determine the fortunes of Cabinet ministers
Bibliography Includes bibliographical references and index
Notes Print version record
Subject Cabinet officers -- Great Britain
Cabinet system -- Great Britain
POLITICAL SCIENCE -- Government -- General.
Cabinet officers
Cabinet system
Great Britain
Form Electronic book
Author Dewan, Torun
Dowding, Keith
LC no. 2011045292
ISBN 9781139338134